Sandwich Loaf

I developed my own sandwich loaf recipe a while ago… now that I have an actual blog set up, I guess I should maybe post it?

Plus I bought these super adorable pans!! Who wouldn’t love bunny and bear head shaped bread?! My recipe conveniently makes one Pullman loaf or two animal head loaves, too.

Anyway this is my ideal sandwich bread. I adapted the white bread from The Bread Baker's Apprentice by Peter Reinhart, which is one of my favourite bread books. I made a few key changes, namely using tangzhong and baking in a Pullman pan (or bunny head pan haha).

I’ve also been working on a richer milk bread recipe for when I want something more decadent and dessert-like, but I love this one for its versatility!

Sandwich Loaf

makes 1 Pullman loaf or 2 animal head loaves

tangzhong

bread

Cook tangzhong ingredients in a saucepan until it turns into a gelled slurry roux.

Dump tangzhong into bread machine. Add liquid ingredients, then flour, salt, and yeast. Put on knead cycle for about 40 minutes, scraping down the sides in the beginning as needed. Rest in the machine for another 40 minutes, until puffy.

Flatten into a rectangle and then roll into a loaf. Place into a lightly buttered pan and cover with the lid. (Alternatively, if making in bunny head pan, divide dough into thirds. Flatten each piece into rectangles and then roll 2 into cylinders and 1 into a ball, placing into the ear and head spots, respectively.)

Let rise for about an hour, or until the top of the loaf barely touches the lid.

Bake in a preheated 350°F oven for about 40 minutes. Remove the lid at about 25 minutes (15 minutes left on the timer) to encourage browning of the crust.

Remove bread from pan and cool on a wire rack. Store in a plastic bag once cooled.

#food #recipe