Family Day 2024

Once again, we went up to the farm for Family Day weekend! We were able to drive up to the house, but there was snow on the ground. It was also cold enough that we did not turn on the water. While we were there, we got more snow! Our neighbour actually came over and pre-emptively plowed a path for us to get back out, which was really nice of him.

Actually it's really interesting looking at my post from last year and all the photos – especially the river. While the river's not frozen solid, or even close to it, for many years, we definitely had more ice this year than last!

But I think it overall was a really nice weekend. We went on two long walks through the bush, where snowshoes were definitely required. It was also cold enough that my silly dog, who usually prefers staying out all day, would ask to come back in. Usually she only does that when we're eating dinner haha.

Speaking of dinner, on Sunday night, I cooked up some A5 Miyazaki wagyu – the Japanese butcher near me had a Family Day special so I thought it'd be a nice time to splurge!

We picked up 4 200g tenderloins. I did a reverse sear in the toaster oven and cast iron pan. Originally I was thinking I could grill them up, but it was too dark and cold for me to want to go back outside to prepare dinner lol.

I got them beautifully rare on the inside! I think I might actually prefer wagyu to be closer to medium but they were still really good. We had one spare tenderloin that we took home. I thinly sliced it up and put it onto a bowl of rice, and it was amazing. If I were to do it again, I'd probably make a black pepper sauce for it, but we just wanted a quick dinner.

Anyway, as usual, more photos are available in the gallery! I am trying to do some more artsy shots... or at least non-dog and non-food photos. Not sure if I'm any good at it, but I'm having fun, so that's all that matters!

#photos #farm #food