april at the farm

As usual, I procrastinated editing photos, but at least they are being put up in the same month in which I took them!

We had an unseasonably warm weekend where it was over 25C! That was unexpected… not unpleasant, but I’m not sure I liked it. We had a lot of garden work planned and doing that in summer-like heat was not fun.

Anyway, under the cut are some photos I’d like to highlight, but the full gallery is also available at this link!

Managed to snap this turkey sitting in a tree while walking through the bush.

Turkeys always look silly to me, and doubly so when they’re in a tree haha.

During the unseasonably warm weekend, the ramps/wild leeks were starting to pop up! I was so excited since they're delicious and ephemeral. We have a lot at the farm, so I can harvest as much as I want – the bulbs too. In other places, they have become locally endangered from over-harvesting, so I'm glad I have my own personal supply.

Of course, this meant that I made that night's dinner with a bunch of ramps that I pulled up that day. Smashed cucumber salad with ramps, mashed potatoes with ramps, a grilled ramp on the side... it was delicious and made me feel like spring was actually happening.

Also, fun side note, the pork chop I bought was called “Nagano pork” – which is confusing because it was from Quebec! The internet told me that Quebec is a major pork exporter to Japan and this breed of pig was developed for the Japanese market. Well, it was delicious at any rate, and I would totally buy it again.

#food #photos #farm