another weekend at the farm

For all the talking I do about the farm, I don't think I actually take that many pictures of the property – I mostly take photos of the dog. But of course, the dog is the best looking anything in the area, wherever she is, so it's hard for me to find the motivation to take pictures of other things.

I'm trying to take more photos in different ways to train that eye and develop a style, though, so we'll see how it goes. I mostly realized this when I was scrolling through the last few blog posts, but I've been taking more varied shots recently, so we're getting there. And of course, now I want to buy a new camera body and lens, even though I'm not even close to running up against the limitations of my current gear.

But that's all more of a side thought for now, since spring is starting up at the farm!

A lot of my fall-planted (or perennials) plants are coming up! This is all my garlic, which seem to be doing quite well. I actually should give them some fertilizer since they're a little paler than I'd like.

My peonies are also starting to come up, as well as the forager favourite, ramps. We're pretty fortunate to have a massive population of ramps, since that means I can sustainably harvest even the bulbs. The ramps aren't quite big enough to dig up yet, but I probably will start in a couple weeks! These ones are actually right on a trail, so if they aren't being harvested for eating, I'll move them off the trail at least, so they don't get run down by the tractor (or humans, I guess, haha).

In the continuing green-ness, here's some moss that's actually right in front of the barn door from the main image.

Also managed to snap a couple surprisingly nice shots of the local squirrels, who were enjoying the bird feeder.

And, it's not a blog post by Iman without a picture of Koharu, so here she is, ready to harass another dog.

A few more pics are available in the gallery if you're interested in such a thing!

#photos #farm